at the Old Rectory
Long before video games, children played with toys and dolls. The Doll Museum specifically features dolls and toys from the 19th and early 20th Century are on display in this small specialized museum. The museum features American, French, German and Parisian dolls.
Also on special display is the Japanese Hina Matsuri, including the emperor, empress and their court. It was presented to the City of Worthington by its sister city Sayama, (Japan), a town renowned for doll making.
Built in 1845 beside St. John’s Episcopal Church and burial yard the rectory would be the home of 15 rectors before being sold. In 1924 the building was moved to 799 Hartford Street as a rental property and then purchased in 1978 by the Worthington Historic Society. The society moved it once again to its present location and went about the process of renovation.
The interior wood work is a walnut while the cherry siding reflects the quality and workmanship placed into its construction..
Today the rectory is the home of the Worthington Historic Society. The front parlor has been furnished as an example of a mid 19th century home. The Rectory offers a library and research center as well as an excellent doll museum.
The gift and exchange shop offers unique and gently used items. Volunteers are eager to help and home-made bean soup is always available. This should be the starting point of your tour of historic Worthington. Besides the doll museum, special exhibits are also located in the rectory.
The Old Rectory
50 West New England Ave.
Worthington, Ohio 43085